The Way of The Witch
Discover Your Magic
Go to content

The Way of The Witch | Chakra healing & energy work

The Chakra System

Quick Links: Chakra Chart | Exercise to Spin & Clear Chakras

Our chakras (Sanskrit for wheels) are the energetic centers of our physical and non-physical bodies. They are the gateways through which life force energy enters, exits, and circulates through us. Because of this we understand that keeping our chakra systems open, clear and functioning properly is key to promoting optimal health and vitality as well as healing imbalances within the physical and energetic bodies.

There are seven major chakras associated with the physical body (more have been identified but for practical purposes will not be expanded upon here). Each chakra has a color as well as a physical and psychological function associated with it. When we understand these correlations we can more easily identify and heal issues that arise in our lives.

The major chakras in the human body are listed below first by the English name followed by the Sanskrit name and a brief description of each.*


1st - Root Chakra or Base Chakra
Sanskrit: Muladhara
Location: Anus and genitals, connected with the coccyx
Color: Red
Area Governed: Kidneys and spinal column
Psychological Function: Will to live, quantity of physical energy
Corresponding Crystals: Garnet, Smoky Quartz, Hematite
Corresponding Sound/Tone: 'Uh' as in cup/ musical note C

2nd -
Sacral Chakra
Sanskrit: Swadhisthana
Location: Below the naval
Color: Orange
Area Governed: Reproductive system
Psychological Function: Giving and receiving physical/mental/spiritual pleasure, quantity of sexual energy
Corresponding Crystals: Amber, Citrine, Orange Calcite
Corresponding Sound/Tone: 'Ooo' as in you/ musical note D

3rd -
Solar Plexus Chakra
Sanskrit: Manipura
Location: About 2 inches above the naval
Color: Yellow
Area Governed: Nervous system, stomach, liver and gallbladder
Psychological function: Pleasure and expansiveness, spiritual wisdom, who you are within the universe, intentionality towards health, healing
Corresponding Crystals: Tigers Eye, Citrine, Topaz
Corresponding Sound/Tone: 'Oh' as in go/ musical note E

4th - Heart Chakra
Sanskrit: Anahata
Location: Center of the breast
Color: Green
Area Governed: Heart, blood, circulatory system
Psychological Function: Openness to life and love for others, ego will
Corresponding Crystals: Rose Quartz, Emerald, Kunzite
Corresponding Sound/Tone: 'Ah' as in car/ musical note F

5th -
Throat Chakra
Sanskrit: Vissudha
Location: Between the depression in the neck and the larynx
Color: Blue
Area Governed: Lungs, bronchial and vocal cords, alimentary canal
Psychological Function: Taking in and assimilating, sense of self
Corresponding Crystals: Aquamarine, Turquoise
Corresponding Sound/Tone: 'Eye' as in my/ musical note G

6th -
Third Eye or Brow Chakra
Sanskrit: Ajna
Location: In front of pituitary gland, between the eyebrows
Color: Indigo
Area Governed: Ears, nose, nervous system, lower brain and left eye
Psychological Function: Visualizing and understanding mental concepts and carrying out ideas
Corresponding Crystals: Amethyst, Lapis lazuli
Corresponding Sound/Tone: 'Ay' as in say/ musical note A

7th - Crown Chakra
Sanskrit: Sahasrana
Location: Top of Head
Color: Violet
Area Governed: Upper brain, right eye
Psychological Function: Integration of personality with life and spiritual aspects of mankind
Corresponding Crystals: Sugalite, Clear Quarts, Charoite
Corresponding Sound/Tone: 'Eee' as in me/musical note B

Understanding the chakra system within the human body can greatly improve one’s ability to balance, heal and open more fully to universal life force energy, thus positively influencing every aspect of a person’s life.  The following exercise will help you become aware of your chakra system and improve it's function.

Exercise to spin and clear the chakras:
Refer to chakra placement by scrolling up to the chakra body image

Sit or lie comfortably and take a few deep, grounding breaths.  Place the palm of your hand 2 to 3 inches above your root chakra and begin moving it clockwise in a circular motion.  As you do this, envision a brilliant red light streaming from your hands, into your chakra and then throughout your body, enveloping it in beautiful red light.  Continue this process for a minute or so until you feel the chakra is balanced then remove your hand a press it firmly to the ground.  

You are now ready to proceed to the sacral chakra.  Follow the same procedure used for the root chakra but this time envision orange light streaming through your hand.  Do this exercise through all seven chakras, each time envisioning the appropriate color that is associated with that energy center. If at any time you feel impressed to use a color other than what is associated with a particular chakra,  that is fine.  Sometimes our chakras require other vibrational frequencies to properly balance, so trust your instincts first. Your higher self always knows best!

Finish the practice with three deep grounding breaths, then take a few moments to reflect on the days exercise. Write down any thoughts, feelings, images, questions or ideas that may have arisen during your practice.  Try comparing notes after several days and you may begin to see patterns develop that can assist you in understanding the deeper traumas or blocks that may be carrying.

Chakra spinning on a daily basis is great way to help keep you grounded and healthy.

*Refer to the subtle bodies, crystal healing and toning pages of this site for more information and exercises useful in learning to work with, heal and balance your chakras.

*Partially adapted from Barbara Brennan’s 'Hands of Light'

© 2021 All rights reserved.
Back to content